Feng Shui – Be a positive light in your home

Home / Home Organization / Feng Shui – Be a positive light in your home

You don’t have to be an expert to understand the principles behind Feng Shui. In fact, you may have already placed the furniture in your bedroom or home office with a practical mind and not even realised that you had utilised some of the basic principles of Feng Shui. Hopefully reading this article will give you a clearer insight into the 5000 year old Chinese philosophy and inspire you to give it a try and start witnessing great results!

Even though Feng Shui is so very complex, in a nut shell, it’s all about promoting positive energy in your home to create balance, harmony and prosperity.

The basis of all Feng Shui principles stem from the Bagua, or energy map of your home. In addition to the Bagua, you must also discover your personal Feng Shui birth element, in order for everything to make sense and teach you how to make the right decorating choices for your home.

The Feng Shui map (or Bagua)

Your home has its own energy map. Similar to the map of a country or the map of your body (think of energy meridians). The Feng Shui map of your home functions just like any other map – it shows where you are at the present moment and how to get to where you want to be.

When you start applying Feng Shui, you can suddenly see and understand how a cluttered closet promotes a chaotic behaviour pattern. The traditional saying “a tidy house is a tidy mind” may spring to mind!

Here is a list of these 8 major life areas defined by ancient Feng Shui masters; each one of these life areas is connected to a specific area of your house:feng shui map

  1. Career & Path in Life
  2. Love & Marriage 
  3. Family 
  4. Money & Abundance
  5. Health & Well-Being
  6. Helpful People & Blessings
  7. Children & Creativity
  8. Spiritual Cultivation & Personal Growth
  9. Fame & Reputation

Simply superimpose the map to the right over the top of a floor plan of your home, ensuring the entry of your home is at the base of the map.

Each of these 8 areas needs specific care and attention in your home, meaning best feng shui decor as defined by specific colors, shapes, images, etc. When a feng shui bagua area of your home is treated right, your life area that corresponds to this bagua area is improved.

How do I know what specific colours, shapes and images to decorate my home with?

There are five elements in Feng Shui – Wood, Fire, Earth, Metal and Water – and each one of us has a predominant energy quality that you can express in a variety of ways in your home. Your personal Feng Shui birth element is determined by the Feng Shui element of your birth year. (simply search the internet for “find my Feng Shui birth element”). Once you have discovered your element, be conscious of decorating in colours that are going to enhance, this could also apply to the colour clothing you wear.

Click on your corresponding element below to enlarge and discover the related colours, shapes and décor pieces that will improve the energy in your space.

feng shui earth feng shui fire feng shui metal feng shui water feng shui wood

A few examples of simple Feng Shui home décor changes you can make today are…

  1. Eliminate clutter
  2. Clear out anything that is broken
  3. Allow as much natural light into your home as possible
  4. Make sure all of your drains are functioning properly
  5. Painting the exterior of your home with no more than 3 colours
  6. Position the desk in your home office facing the door
  7. Take any technology, i.e. t.v or computer, out of your bedroom
  8. Last but not least…




Related Posts
Home organization